LOST IN THE NOISE

January 4 — I’VE HAD ENOUGH, The Tractors (1994)

2e6e4606-2077-4e6d-a314-a27c60a6383eMy only encounter with Steve Ripley is consistent with other stories that have surfaced since he passed away yesterday.

In the early 2000s, our firm was helping a regional airline promote direct flights between Tulsa and Nashville. We decided to give some free tickets to musicians who traveled between the cities, hopefully spreading some goodwill and word-of-mouth. Out of the blue I called Ripley, a well-known guitarist, producer, and technician who had worked with Bob Dylan and several Tulsa Sound pioneers. He had recently purchased The Church, the former recording studio of his colleague Leon Russell.

“Come on by the studio tomorrow and I’ll show you around,” he said.

When I arrived, the place was packed with musicians, a film crew, and production assistants. They were shooting a video for the Tractors’ new album. Ripley introduced me around. “This is Russ, he’s helping with an airline that’s flying between here and Nashville.” Practically everyone there was from Nashville, including famed multi-instrumentalist Fats Kaplin. Ripley invited me to stay; he made me feel at home.

Ripley was a long-time presence in the music world. In Tulsa, he was the stylistic link between Bob Wills and Leon Russell. He worked with Eric Clapton, Bonnie Raitt, and J.J. Cale. Dylan, with whom Ripley toured, once called him one of his favorite bandmates. He designed guitars with his pal Eddie Van Halen. He was a mentor to many Red Dirt artists.

In 1994, after decades behind the scenes, Ripley hit it big when he assembled a collection of long-time friends and formed the Tractors. Their debut album won a Grammy.

Still, the shadows of his legacy extend beyond his musical talent.

“My favorite part about Steve,” said Van Halen, “was the kind, wonderful, humble human being he was. I loved Steve with all my heart.”

Leave a comment