LOST IN THE NOISE

April 8 — FORESTS AND SANDS, Camera Obscura (2009)

IMG_1755A field guide to today’s music, with accompanying thoughts and conversations.

On my morning walk with Charlie, I listen to a podcast interview with Marty Stuart. (Did anyone in music have better teachers? As a kid, Stuart played with Lester Flatt, Doc Watson, Vassar Clements, Johnny Cash.) My yoga instructor Ted mentions The Beach Boys. (The Beach Boys? Well, “God Only Knows” is great, I’ll give them that.) Afterward, at the coffeehouse in the Plaza District, I hear Pokey Lafarge. (Pokey! One of the first artists Lauren and I discovered together. We saw him in Bartlesville. He had a cold.) And then, is this Neko Case? No, Shazam tells me it’s Camera Obscura. (I like them! How do I not know them?)

In the novel I’m reading, “Bucky F*cking Dent,” there’s a reference to the Grateful Dead. (Should I give them another chance? Maybe. Someday.) At the Science Museum with Luke this afternoon, something prompts me to sing Roger Miller’s “You Can’t Roller Skate in a Buffalo Herd.” (“Stop, Dad.”) My Morning Jacket’s “Knot Comes Loose” comes on the radio on the way home. (Ten years ago, I was all about them. What came between us?)

And during dinner at home while listening to the BoDean’s Pandora station, a Gin Blossoms song plays, prompting a brief discussion that “New Miserable Experience” came out twenty-five years ago. (“I was in college,” Lauren said. “I was at Caz’s,” I said.)

Leave a Reply

