LOST IN THE NOISE

February 17 — THE LIFE YOU CHOSE, Jason Isbell (2015)

img_1647Validation usually comes at just the right moment. In Ada today, a gentleman in a leadership class I’m teaching slipped me a note. Last night was my seventh consecutive Thursday in Ada; today was my seventh consecutive Friday. It’s been very gratifying, but the road and the Holiday Inn Express are wearing on me. But his gratitude, so heart-felt and unexpected, will fuel me for a long time. I’m reminded of Jason Isbell’s comment online a few months ago, along with a photo of his hero, John Prine, hugging him after Isbell had won an award. “This is worth every crappy hotel room I’ve ever slept in,” he wrote.

 

Leave a Reply

