LOST IN THE NOISE

November 4 — SPACE AGE LOVE SONG, A Flock of Seagulls (1981)

IMG_1318.PNGOccasionally, I reconsider an artist I’ve dismissed or ignored. Someone or something tells me that enough time has passed; they’re due for another chance. Thus, my affinity today for the Allman Brothers and the Smiths. Other times, it only re-affirms my long-standing opinion. (Van Morrison is running out of chances.) And now, this. Last night, at an overnight client outing with my partner Aaron Fulkerson, he asked which band to me best represents the New Wave movement. It’s a good question. In my mind, the era was defined by songs more than artists or albums. And he proposed A Flock of Seagulls, in my mind a one-hit wonder who made their name on weird hair and “I Ran.” But here we have a legitimately good song that has held up well, something that hovers around Echo & the Bunnymen and early Tears for Fears, both of which were cousins to New Wave, at best. Maybe it’s time to reconsider the whole catalog.

 

Leave a Reply

