LOST IN THE NOISE

March 10 — LORD OF THE HIGHWAY, Joe Ely (1987)

imageThis week in Austin is the annual South by Southwest music conference, and right on cue my mind travels back 26 years when I attended the second SXSW. It was a skeleton of the mega event it has become.

But on the final night, at the Austin Music Awards, I saw one of the best line-ups I’ve ever seen assembled on stage: the Wagoneers, Timbuk 3, the Butthole Surfers, the Killer Bees, True Believers and the great Joe Ely. At 41, he was the elder statesman of the Austin scene. He was the first act onstage, played this song and ripped the roof off the place. I swore he was Bruce Springsteen’s long lost brother from Texas. I went to Waterloo Records the next day and bought this album. I’ve been listening to him ever since.

 

Leave a Reply

