LOST IN THE NOISE

January 12 — IS THIS THE REAL WORLD, Garland Jeffreys (2013)

imageSiriusXM’s The Loft has had Garland Jeffreys in heavy rotation for a few months, and I assumed he was a newcomer. Turns out, he’s been around a while and has an interesting body of work. Grew up in Brooklyn, was old chums with Lou Reed, recorded with John Cale in the late ’60s, and has written several socially conscious albums (he is half black, half Puerto Rican). Today, a 74-degree Sunday, I rode my bike to the office downtown, and as this song played in my ears, I felt like I was in a movie.

Leave a Reply

